top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGaggan Sabherwal

What are the Indian community in the UK going through because of the Corona Virus Outbreak?

By Gaggan Sabherwal

BBC South Asia Diaspora Reporter, London

21st March 2020


The Corona Virus outbreak has not only affected the people of Wuhan in China but has caused life changing affects all over the world. Our South Asia Diaspora Reporter spoke to a number of Indians living in the UK and asked them how has this global pandemic affected them and their families and this is what they had to say.....


Arvind Kumar Mandawa, age-38 years, software engineer, Leeds

I am deeply saddened by the situation that still exists in Britain regarding the Corona virus. It has been a stressful time for me and my family.


My parents came from Hyderabad to live with me for three months. Since both our husband and wife work here, they also take care of our two small children during this period. They came on 5 March and were to leave on 5 June.


But the situation that has arisen from the corona virus has changed all our plans. Because the instructions we were getting from the government, we were stuck in a state of confusion. First we were told that if we would be kept aside for seven days, then it was changed to 14 days.



We felt that it would be safe for our parents to send them back to India. Therefore, I decided to change the tickets of those people and send them back. However, we suffered a lot of financial loss.


I think the UK government is not doing as much as it needs to do to face this situation. I believe that the government has failed miserably.


My parents were also surprised to see that neither they investigated at London's Heathrow Airport nor Leeds Bradford Airport. It was very surprising how a passenger is being allowed to go to Britain without any screening and screening. Yes, he had to go through the check-in at Hyderabad airport and while leaving, then why not here in Britain?


Mansi Atholia, age- 41 years, Harrow- Middlesex

I am an Indian single mother and live here in the UK with my nine year old daughter. I have no complaint with the Government of Britain how she is dealing with this problem. But I am worried about two things.


The first thing is that all the events I had to attend in March and April had to be cancelled and the tickets had to be returned. Now how will I pay the rent? Can there be any relief for us?


I teach the children that they are also stalled due to which I am not getting the fee money. Can a single mother or father like me who is coming out of the country and leading a life of struggle, get some relief in the rent? If it does not, then it will be very troublesome for us.


Secondly, if this continues, can we get permission to return to our families.


Chinu Kishore, Essex

I am from India and my mother lives alone in India. I was planning to go there in April. But now due to this disease, I have to cancel my flight. We have all been imprisoned in homes in a way. This is not good in terms of our jobs, studies and financial condition.


Nina Darmesi, North-West London

I am a choreographer and Zumba dance instructor. I am very disappointed about the situation that has arisen. All shops and supermarkets are lying vacant. My work has also been badly affected. I do not know when our lives will be back on track.


Apart from this, another thing which is getting worse, is to increase the prices of goods of local traders. It is like taking advantage of compulsion which is not true at all.


Prasanna Shirish Kabade, age - 44 years, Watford

I am worried about both India and Britain. I praise them both for what they are doing to keep us safe.


The last few days have been difficult and intimidating, but I believe that Britain is one of the strongest countries in the world. Soon he will overcome this difficult situation.


It is our national duty to help and protect each other at such times.


Bhavna Patel, age 60 years, London

I worry most about my children who are in medical professions. They do not have complete security equipment nor time to get full sleep. People have emptied the shops in the process of collecting goods, so those who have less time to shop have got into trouble. Can no arrangement be made to provide fresh fruits and goods to such people?


Masoom Akhlavaya, age-43 years, Dewsbury Corona has greatly influenced me and my family. My father of 78 years has just returned from India, staying in his village for four months. Due to his age, his immunity is not as strong.

I have advised them to stay at home and have taken care of all the things they need. I also have twin daughters who are three years old. I have to keep the necessary medicines and all the necessary things for my father and daughters.


Work from home has been allowed in the office, it has definitely helped but it is also very challenging. The next few weeks are going to be even more difficult because I think new and strict restrictions are going to be ahead.


6 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page